17
Jan
09

war in suntec

You have not read the title wrongly. There was war going on in suntec on friday night; spiritual warfare.

People were already streaming into the convention area at near 1900. Isn’t it a pleasure to see Christ follwers so eager to come and meet God face to face, to surrender themselves to the Lord, submit requests and petitions unto Yahweh, intercede for the nation, family and friends, last but not least- keep one another in prayer.

Rewind 1hr.. “My heart isn’t in the best of conditions, is there anything that can help change this heart of mine? There are so many things to be done yet I’m not doing them. How to prepare myself for war later?” I thought to myself. “Slow down,  my child”, says the Lord. I tried to reason it out with God, “But Jesus, i’m not prepared! I don’t want another routine of things. i don’t want to miss out on this opportunity to be refreshed by You, but I can’t seem to put my focus on You.”

God smiled. He stretched down His hand and whispered to me. “Pray, my child. I’m the Almighty, who is never asleep nor busy. Commit all that’s troubling to Me and I will give you rest.”

Hence, I sat down to read the Bible and pray. “O Lord, my God, deliver me! I need to realign my life according to Your plans. Help me Holy Spirit as You guide my every step.” The next moment, I was refreshed and ready for the war ahead of me in suntec.

The time for war came. It started out with a worship song and suddenly, my spiritual sense was wide opened once again. I realized the very purpose to why I am living- to love God and bring glory to Him. What have I been doing for the entire week? Certainly the pressures of school work (projects, quizzes..), the bothering flu bug etc has caught up with me. So much so that I was clouded from the fact that I missed the entire point of living. I wonder.. Thursday night, I just shared about how God opened my spiritual senses and antenna in Manila missions. And the very next thing, I was blind to my own faults.

Through the warfare, I was pouring out to God. If God uses an email account, my name would probably be in His junk mail section as I’ve flooded Him with so many petitions and requests. I realized the amount of baggage that I’ve been keeping within me, the amount of junk that is in me, keeping me at bay from experiencing the freedom God gave me. He died on the cross to set the captives free!

How can I be weighed down so heavily and not know? Now, I can truly dance and be joyful for God has lifted my burdens. Prayer works  hand in hand with fasting. A heart that is desiring God is an undeterred one. No hunger pangs will be an obstacle.

Prayers works. How many times have I pleaded with the Lord concerning my brother and parents, and God answered? War doesn’t end at 2200 when the prayer meet ended. Battles continued fighting and victorious shouts were resounding.

With faith in God, I asked my Dad one question when I got home. “Dad, are you going for service on sun? Where?”

“Where else” was his reply. “How would I know which church would you and Mum be attending..” I probed further. “Hope lor. Benedict is going on Sunday too.” “WOW, God!” I exclaimed in my heart. This is one answered prayer. Victory belongs to The One above, who is never changing, never slow to act, whose arms are never too short.

Blessings continue to be pouring down from heaven. Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of the Lord. On The Rock, I will stand.


2 Responses to “war in suntec”


  1. 1 faith
    January 18, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    i feel very encouraged ben! can’t help to proclaim the awesomeness of a good God. 🙂 im posting my sharing on the CG Blog soon.

  2. January 21, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    hey ben! encouraging testimony!


Leave a comment




January 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031